Bug #95

3.3.0beta: Always switching to default account

Added by Joerg Fischer almost 2 years ago. Updated almost 2 years ago.

Status:ClosedStart date:10/03/2012
Priority:NormalDue date:
Assignee:Hiroyuki Yamamoto% Done:

0%

Category:SylpheedSpent time:-
Target version:-

Description

When a folder is selected, the account is always switched to the default account.

Version 3.3.0beta2 (Build 1140)
GTK+ 2.24.10 / GLib 2.32.4
Operating System: Linux 3.4.6-2.10-desktop (x86_64) [openSuse 12.2]
Compiled-in features: gthread IPv6 iconv compface GnuPG OpenSSL GtkSpell

History

#1 Updated by Hiroyuki Yamamoto almost 2 years ago

  • Status changed from New to In Progress

Joerg Fischer wrote:

When a folder is selected, the account is always switched to the default account.

If you don't want account to be switched automatically, uncheck the following setting:
'Common preferences - Details - Interface - Change current account on folder open'

#2 Updated by Joerg Fischer almost 2 years ago

The point is that the current account is always switched to the default account even if I open a folder associated to a different account that is not the default account. If the setting is not checked, the account won't change. However, I thought if the setting is checked it would mean that the current account would be changed to the "folder's account". Probably there isn't really something like a "folder belongs to account" association. It's just a "use this folder to put emails from this account into it", which means one can receive emails from different accounts into the same inbox folder for instance. Hmmm. Actually I think in this situation this setting doesn't make sense for me and I'll simply turn it off...

Perhaps one should rename the setting to what it really does, ie, "Switch to default account on folder open".

#3 Updated by Hiroyuki Yamamoto almost 2 years ago

Joerg Fischer wrote:

The point is that the current account is always switched to the default account even if I open a folder associated to a different account that is not the default account. If the setting is not checked, the account won't change. However, I thought if the setting is checked it would mean that the current account would be changed to the "folder's account". Probably there isn't really something like a "folder belongs to account" association. It's just a "use this folder to put emails from this account into it", which means one can receive emails from different accounts into the same inbox folder for instance. Hmmm. Actually I think in this situation this setting doesn't make sense for me and I'll simply turn it off...

Hmm, 'folder property - Compose - Account' setting should work as you expect (it works here).
Did you also check 'Apply to subfolders' in case you select subfolders?

#4 Updated by Joerg Fischer almost 2 years ago

The folder properties were not set. I upgraded from version 3.0.3 to this beta version, then I realized this "new" behaviour. Probably the folder property settings got lost somehow... anyway, sorry for the noise.

#5 Updated by Hiroyuki Yamamoto almost 2 years ago

  • Status changed from In Progress to Closed

Also available in: Atom PDF